In Canadian politics, a Quebec lieutenant is a politician, from Quebec, usually a francophone and most often a Member of Parliament or at least a current or former candidate for Parliament, who is selected by a senior politician such as the Prime Minister or the leader of a national federal party, as his or her main advisor and/or spokesperson on issues specific to Quebec. This is particularly the case when the leader is an anglophone, though several francophone leaders have also had Quebec lieutenants; all francophone leaders of the Liberal Party have had Quebec lieutenants. This is usually a well-known but often an unofficial assignment. The position has no official legal status.

Notable Quebec lieutenants

Some past and current Quebec lieutenants include:

Liberal Party of Canada

Political lieutenant District
Took Office Left Office Party leader
     Wilfrid Laurier Drummond—Arthabaska
(Centre-du-Québec) until 1877
Quebec East
(Québec) after 1877
1874 1887 Alexander Mackenzie
Edward Blake
     Israël Tarte Saint-Jean—Iberville
(Montérégie) until 1900
(Montreal East) after 1900
1896 1902 Wilfrid Laurier
     Ernest Lapointe Quebec East
1921 1941 William Lyon Mackenzie King
     Louis Saint-Laurent Quebec East
1941 1948 William Lyon Mackenzie King
     Guy Favreau Papineau
(Montreal East)
1963 1967 Lester Pearson
     Jean Marchand Quebec West
(Québec) until 1968
(Québec) after 1968
1967 1976 Lester Pearson
Pierre Trudeau
     Marc Lalonde Outremont
(Montreal West)
1976 1984 Pierre Trudeau
     Raymond Garneau Laval-des-Rapides
1986 1988 John Turner
     Marcel Massé Hull—Aylmer
1993 1999 Jean Chrétien
     Alfonso Gagliano Saint-Léonard—Saint-Michel
(Montreal East)
1999 2002 Jean Chrétien
     Martin Cauchon Outremont
(Montreal West)
2002 2003 Jean Chrétien
     Jean Lapierre Outremont
(Montreal West)
2003 2006 Paul Martin
     Marcel Proulx Hull—Aylmer
2007[1] 2007 Stéphane Dion
     Céline Hervieux-Payette Bedford[2]
2007[3] 2008 Stéphane Dion
     Denis Coderre Bourassa
(Montreal East)
2009[4] 2009[5][6] Michael Ignatieff
     Marc Garneau*, Leader's Representative

Remi Bujold*, Organizer

2011 Michael Ignatieff
     None NA 2011[9] current Justin Trudeau

* Position split into two position: leaders' representative/advisor and chief provincial organizer[10]

Conservative Party of Canada (from 1867 until 1942)

Political lieutenant District
Took Office Left Office Party leader
     Sir George-Étienne Cartier Montreal East
(Montreal East)
1867 1873 Sir John A. Macdonald
     Sir Hector Langevin Dorchester
(Chaudière-Appalaches) until 1876
(Québec) 1876-78
(Mauricie) after 1878
1873 1891 Sir John A. Macdonald
     Joseph-Aldéric Ouimet Laval
1891 1896 Sir John Abbott
Sir John Thompson
Sir Mackenzie Bowell
Sir Charles Tupper
     Frederick Debartzch Monk Jacques-Cartier
(Montreal West)
1911 1914 Sir Robert Borden
     Pierre-Édouard Blondin Champlain
1914 1921 Sir Robert Borden
     Esioff-Léon Patenaude none[11] 1925 1926 Arthur Meighen

Progressive Conservative Party (from 1942 until 2004)

Political lieutenant District
Took Office Left Office Party leader
     Georges-Henri Héon Argenteuil
1949 1949 George A. Drew
     Léon Balcer Trois-Rivières
1957 1965 John George Diefenbaker
     Marcel Faribault none[12] 1967 1968 Robert Stanfield
     Claude Wagner Saint-Hyacinthe
1972 1978 Robert Stanfield
Joe Clark
     Lucien Bouchard Lac-Saint-Jean
1988 1990 Brian Mulroney
     Benoît Bouchard Roberval
1990 1993 Brian Mulroney
     Monique Landry Blainville—Deux-Montagnes
1993 1993 Kim Campbell
     André Bachand Richmond—Arthabaska
(Centre-du-Québec &
Eastern Townships)
1998 2004 Joe Clark
Peter MacKay

Reform Party (from 1987 until 2000)

Political lieutenant District
Took Office Left Office Party leader
  Gilles St-Laurent none[13] 1996 1997 Preston Manning

Canadian Alliance (from 2000 until 2004)

Political lieutenant District
Took Office Left Office Party leader
  Gérard Latulippe none[14] 2000 2000 Stockwell Day

Conservative Party of Canada (2004 - Present)

Political lieutenant District
Took Office Left Office Party leader
  Josée Verner Louis-Saint-Laurent
2004 2005 Stephen Harper
  Lawrence Cannon Pontiac
2005 2008 Stephen Harper
  Christian Paradis Mégantic—L'Érable
(Eastern Townships)
2008[16] 2013 Stephen Harper
  Denis Lebel Roberval—Lac-Saint-Jean
2013[17] 2017 Stephen Harper
Rona Ambrose
  Alain Rayes Richmond—Arthabaska
(Eastern Townships)
2017[18] Current Andrew Scheer

New Democratic Party (since 1961)

Political lieutenant District
Took Office Left Office Party leader
     Robert Cliche none[19] 1964 1968 Tommy Douglas
     Claude Rompré none[20] 1986 1990 Ed Broadbent
     Pierre Ducasse none[21] 2003 2007[22] Jack Layton
     Thomas Mulcair Outremont[23]
(Montreal West)
2007[24] 2012 Jack Layton
Nycole Turmel
     Alexandre Boulerice Rosemont—La Petite-Patrie
(Montreal East)
2012[25] Current Thomas Mulcair
Jagmeet Singh


  1. ^ Appointed on May 2, 2007 Le PLC veut regagner le coeur des francophones, La Presse, May 2, 2007
  2. ^ Senatorial Division
  3. ^ Appointed on October 16, 2007 Hervieux-Payette devient le lieutenant de Dion au Québec, La Presse, October 16, 2007
  4. ^ Appointed on January 22, 2009 Coderre devient lieutenant politique au Québec, La Presse, January 22, 2009
  5. ^ Left on September 28, 2009 Coderre steps down as Ignatieff's Quebec Lieutenant, CTV News, September 28, 2009 Archived September 30, 2009, at the Wayback Machine.
  6. ^ Left on September 28, 2009 Coderre quitte son poste de lieutenant politique, La Presse, September 28, 2009
  7. ^ Appointed on October 7, 2009 Marc Garneau named Quebec lieutenant, Montreal Gazette, October 7, 2009 Archived October 10, 2009, at the Wayback Machine.
  8. ^ Appointed on October 21, 2009 Ignatieff names new Quebec organizer, Montreal Gazette, October 21, 2009[permanent dead link]
  9. ^
  10. ^ Ignatieff names new Quebec organizer, Montreal Gazette, October 21, 2009[permanent dead link]
  11. ^ Patenaude ran in the district of Jacques-Cartier (Montreal West) in 1925 and in 1926. Each time he was defeated.
  12. ^ Marcel Faribault tried to win a seat in the district of Gamelin
    (Montreal East) in 1968. He was defeated.
  13. ^ Gilles St-Laurent ran in the district of Louis-Hébert (Québec) in 1997. He was defeated.
  14. ^ Gérard Latulippe ran in the district of Charlesbourg-Jacques-Cartier (Québec) in 2000. He was defeated.
  15. ^ Josée Verner was first elected to Parliament in 2006. It was her second attempt.
  16. ^ Harper dévoile son nouveau cabinet, Joël-Denis Bellavance, La Presse, October 30, 2008
  17. ^ Harper shakes up his Quebec team, Daneil LeBlanc, The Globe and Mail, August 4, 2013
  18. ^ Alain Rayes devient lieutenant politique des conservateurs pour le Québec, Journal de Quebec, June 24, 2017
  19. ^ Robert Cliche ran in the district of Beauce (Chaudière-Appalaches) in 1965 and in Duvernay (Laval) in 1968. In both cases he was defeated.
  20. ^ Claude Rompré ran in the district of Saint-Maurice (Mauricie) in 1986 and in 1988. Each time he was defeated.
  21. ^ Pierre Ducasse ran in the district of Manicouagan (Côte-Nord) in 2004 and in 2006. Each time he was defeated. He is the NDP nominee for the next election in the district of Hull-Aylmer (Outaouais).
  22. ^ Ducasse didn't actually leave office. He is still serving as Layton's Quebec special advisor in the Leader's office while Mulcair is the NDP's main spokesperson in Quebec.
  23. ^ Thomas Mulcair won a by-election on September 17, 2007. Les libéraux éclipsés, La Presse, September 17, 2007
  24. ^ Appointed on April 20, 2007 NDP recruits ex-Quebec environment minister Thomas Mulcair for next election, EarthEast, April 20, 2007[dead link]
  25. ^
Retrieved from "